Reading “Zen Wisdom” Introduction

Master Sheng-yen published the book “Zen Wisdom – Knowing and Doing” in 1993. I bought it after 2003 and brought it with me to begin studying aboard since 2005 Fall. I accept the Buddhism and Zen concepts since my high school student period, even earlier. I do not understand more about Buddhism or Zen. It is however my though that Buddhism and Zen are the mental activity but not be limited to religion faith. Therefore, at present, I regard Buddhism and Zen as idealism which is sublimed from materialism.

Living in United States almost one year, I am happy to contact with Christian and to know more about Christianity and Holy Bible. They inspired me to review the ideas of Buddhism and Zen. Following, I excerpt paragraphs in the Introduction in the book:

It’s not that the Buddha was suspect; rather, it is normal for people to be skeptical, suspicious, and doubtful.

I am a Buddhist monk who has received transmission in two Ch’an lineages: Ts’ao-tung (Japanese: Soto) and Lin-chi (Japanese: Rinzai).

However, Ch’an is universal and transcends cultural differences across time and space.

Buddhadharma does not change, yet it can and does adapt to different cultures and period of history.

Up to this point I have been speaking about Buddhism. I understand that in the United States many people believe that Ch’an (Zen) is somehow separate from Buddhism. Let me emphatically say, right now, that Ch’an is Buddhism. It is one approach to the practice of Buddhadharma.

These categories, “Practice,” “Philosophy and Doctrine,” and “Social Issues,” are the areas that the questions touch upon.

Leave a Reply

