The Ancient Chinese Wisdom “I Ching”

I Ching represents the human philosophy in ancient Chinese world. Before Chinese people summed up the wisdom to I Ching in Zhou Dynasty, they experienced the human culture more than thousands of years, numerous generations. I believe that the “I Ching” wisdom is invaluable. Although the content in I Ching can not explain and infer all events in the world, it is concise and fills us wisdom.

The Chinese word “易” (I, or Yi) implies versatile meanings, the simplicity “簡易”, the persistency “不易”, and the variability ”變易”. The simplicity, it means that we should consider events as simple, easy, or plain. The persistency, it means that the event should be unbiased, impartial, or unchangeable. Referring to the simplicity and the persistency, we can not be confused with outward phenomena, and not disturb our mind. The variability, I like to explain it as the opportunity. We can try to change our mind to deal with difficult things, then we are not limited and bound by the worse conditions.

It is easy to search information about I Ching易經” online. It is interesting that Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz (1646-1716) was a Sinophile and studied the I Ching hexagrams.

He noted with fascination how the I Ching hexagrams correspond to the binary numbers from 0 to 111111, and mistakenly concluded that this mapping was evidence of major Chinese accomplishments in the sort of philosophical mathematics he admired.

One thought on “The Ancient Chinese Wisdom “I Ching”

  1. p-d

    Thank you for the post, I agree with your commentary about not being limited and bound to the worst conditions. I recently started a thirty day intensive study of the I Ching and am continually amazed how relevant its wisdom remains.

    Thank you for sharing!

    paddy

    Paddysweb

Leave a Reply

